We are curious creatures

Why is it that we become so engrossed in the information we do not know? Why do we constantly hunt for answer? Why is it that without this knowledge we do not feel complete?

Curiosity is the answer.

“Curiosity is the organic building block of knowledge structure and is the key which has opened new vistas of thought and objective disciplines”. It is curiosity that drives society to understand the daily occurrence of life. Curiosity is what motivates individuals to discover themselves, obtain dreams and goals for the life ahead. Curiosity can be used to describe as well as used to explain behaviour. Although curiosity without exploration from a psychological stand point does not work, curiosity acts as a catalyst for motivation whereas exploration aids this and allows the individual to discover.

Everyone is curious, my curiosity drove me to self-diagnose myself after reading the credible Doctor Google.

A year or so ago, I experience a sharp pain in my abdomen. This was a pain that would not leave nor could not be cured by standard medication. I have had a long fear of doctors from needles to surgeries, every chance I can avoid seeing a doctor is to my own benefit. I prolonged looking into my pain, my mother and I began to become curious and decided to google what could potentially be causing the pain.

Probably the worst decision.

One of the 10 website my mother and I looked at described that I could potentially have a blood clot, locked away somewhere in my abdominal region. Another suggested to call the nearest doctor and schedule and MRI.

It was safe to say that I was fearing for my life, so instead I waited a day to notice that my pain had gradually faded away.

I think that curiosity presents itself in many different ways, it can drive you to discover knowledge that can better yourself, your future and the world around you. Whereas in other cases curiosity can lead you to explore what should be left in the dark.

In this case my curiosity allowed me to realise that I wasn’t actually dying.

While curiosity can be positive and negative, it is something humanity can never escape. It is apart of life to search for the unseen answers, to discover the hidden agendas of the world and more importantly partake in self exploration.

“The important thing is to not stop questioning. Curiosity has its own reason for existence. One cannot help but be in awe when he contemplates the mysteries of eternity, of life, of the marvelous structure of reality. It is enough if one tries merely to comprehend a little of this mystery each day.” – Albert Einstein 

Leave a Reply

